Jackie Chan

Jackie Chan

 

Born: 7 April 1954, Hong Kong

Birth Name: Kong-sang Chan

 

“I never wanted to be the next Bruce Lee. I just wanted to be the first Jackie Chan”

I’m a pretty big fan of all things Jackie Chan, especially his early films, from odd appearances as a stunt man to his more famous leading roles in movies such as Police Story (1985), Armour of God (1986), Project A (1984) and Drunken Master (1978).  Jackie attended the China Drama Academy at the age of 6 and was rigorously trained in music, dance, and traditional martial arts. A visiting filmmaker offered Chan his first bit part as a stunt player. His academy “brothers” include Sammo Hung, Biao Yuen, Corey Yuen, Wah Yuen and Yuen Man Meng.

The first Chan movie I watched was Rumble in the Bronx (1994) and became hooked ever since, I decided to dig a little deeper into his background and history and found the book I am Jackie Chan a brilliant and informative read which I highly recommend for any fan of Jackie Chan.

One of my favourites, although I fully admit not one of his best movies, is City Hunter (1993) based on the Manga. City Hunter follows the adventures of detective Ryu Saeba (Jackie Chan) who in this case must take down Col. MacDonald (Richard Norton) who has taken over a cruise ship and is holding the passengers hostage. It’s a pretty silly movie but some of the fight scenes are awesome. I love the ‘Gambit-esque’ card player and the Street Fighter scene beats any of the live action Street Fighter movies to date, just for purely sticking to its source material so closely. See below!

There’s plenty to look up on Jackie Chan and tonnes of information on the web, including his official website, which covers a lot of his more recent events, appearances and movies etc. Strangely, for a more extensive list of his older movies see here!

Two of my other favourites are Who Am I? (1998) and Mr. Nice Guy (1997), which are both great Sunday night ‘switch off to’ entertainment. Richard Norton from City Hunter also plays the villain to Jackie Chan’s hero in Mr. Nice Guy. Please take a look at his IMDB page here!

Recent stuff on the world of Jackie Chan at http://jackiechan.com/ and Jackie Chan on IMDB.

Jackie Chan’s IMDB covers the long list of credits as writer, director and actor including his 1973 entry as ‘Thug in Prison’ in Enter the Dragon (1973) with Bruce Lee, check out the picture of Bruce and Jackie below!

8 thoughts on “Jackie Chan

  1. Awesome, I love the Jackie Chan clip you threw in there 🙂

    I like Jackie Chan for his brilliant stunt work and acting on screen, whether it be a comedy role or a serious one, he plays both of them well.

    Sadly I haven’t seen as many JC’s films as you but it gives me something to look forward to!

  2. Thanks, yeah it’s certainly a memorable clip from a Jackie Chan movie, up there with him hanging off the edge of a bus using an umbrella, but not as funny obviously 🙂

    He does both very well, I was quite suprised at the New Police Story for its serious parts and really enjoyed it, certainly a lot better than Supercop. When you’ve got great stunt work and brilliant comedy timing is usually doesn’t matter what situation he’s in you know it’s going to be entertaining.

    Depending on what you’re looking for the few I’ve listed in the intro paragraph are a good place to start! This blog could have been so much more extensive but I figured I’d just provide a few doors and people can choose to use them if their interested, hopefully theres a few places to start exploring from 🙂

    1. I know just what you mean, I’ve pretty much left anything Hollywood related out, I was tempted to put a bit in about Rush Hour but that was pretty much the beginining of the end for Chan’s signature style in his films. Might see if I can watch a few of the classics soon and write a couple of reviews 🙂

  3. Ah yeah the classics are ace! Police story was the best and comedy all in one !! The food delivery one was too was it pizza ?

  4. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I’m quite sure I will learn lots of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next one!

Leave a Reply

