Eurogamer Expo 2013 – Friday: The Social (retro) Network

Contrary to the t-shirt line up, I do not in fact work for Atari.
Contrary to the t-shirt line up, I do not work for Atari

“Don’t I know you from the internet?”

This question pretty much sums up my Friday at Eurogamer, and possibly reveals how social networking works in the 21st century. All I know is that I spent the day trying to meet as many people (from the world of twitter) as I could, with reasonable amounts of success. I met some awesome people and wish I’d met a few more, but alas, I had to fit some gaming in there too.

This post is a few snap shots of some of those people I managed to meet and links to what they do in the world of gaming and retro gaming. Naturally most of these meetings (I say meetings, rather me cautiously moving up to people and saying hi, are you *insert name here* from twitter?) occurred in the Replay Zone, see the galleries below. Apologies to a few as well who I didn’t get round to seeing, namely Mark from New Star Games, and Mark and Jamie from The Games Shed, see links at the end!

Gallery 1 – Meeting Ally, Barrie, Jools, Kevin and Krystal

Follow Retro Collect on twitter @RetroCollect or visit their website over at Retro Collect

Follow Krystal on twitter @NinjaVixen or visit her blog over at Vixen Gaming

Follow Retro Asylum on twitter @RetroAsylum1 or visit their website over at Retro Asylum

Thanks to Replay Events for setting up another awesome retro gaming area, and for persuading me to join in with the King of Fighters tournament. I’ll definitely be coming to the Play Expo next year! See some more pictures below of the retro gaming area, a few highlights included the King of Fighters tournament, finally getting to play on a Dreamcast (some sort of tennis game – see pic below), playing a few rounds on Goldeneye and working my way around games I did and didn’t recognise from the world of retro gaming. Good times.

Gallery 2: Replay Zone

Mark and Jamie on twitter @GamesShed and The Games Shed on You Tube The Games Shed

Mark Baldwin on twitter @LambkinDraw who is community manager for New Star Games

Coming up next, Nintendo at Eurogamer. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

